English Turkish

ESK Primary Student Council Elections

Election fever took over Key Stage 2 as once again it was time to choose our new Student Councillors for 2017–2018.

The final round of the Student Council elections took place on Friday 13th March when each year group voted for two candidates (one boy, and one girl) to represent their year group on the council.  Following in-class elections two candidates from each class were invited to prepare an A4 poster, and to present a two minute speech to their year groups. We all listened carefully to the speeches – all of which were interesting and were very well thought out. We could tell that they were all very determined to be elected! Voting was then carried out by secret ballot.

After a very long and nail biting week the results were announced on Friday 17th March.  In a special assembly we thanked our existing Student Councillors for all their hard work over the last 12 months. They gave a brief account of the work they had undertaken and some of their achievement, raising disability awareness, becoming accredited as a ‘Sun Safe School’, raising money to help KAR feed homeless dogs and cats to name but a few of their achievements. Our new student councillors were given a warm welcome and presented with Student Councillors badges. The 2017–2018 Student Councillors are:-


Year 3 Tuna Yazıcı Duru Yazıcı
Year 4 Eren Nevzat Angel Gibbs
Year 5 Kaani Akyıllar Dilem Nat
Year 6 Ersel Kalfaoğlu Serva Doğan


(By Alison Irıkzade, Y6 TA & Student Council Leader)




  • Bilim Sokak
  • Bellapais - Kyrenia
  • North Cyprus
  • (via Mersin 10 Turkey)


+90 392 444 0375